Posted by: jmdenham | February 26, 2012

My Help

Philippians 4:10-19 (abridged)

“I rejoice in the Lord greatly that now at last you have revived your concern for me; indeed, you were concerned for me, but had no opportunity to show it…I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty.  In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need.  I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  In any case, it was kind of you to share my distress…For even when I was in (Riverside), you sent me help for my needs more than once.  Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the profit that accumulates to your account.  I have been paid in full and have more than enough; I am fully satisfied, now that I have received from (you) the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God.  And my God will fully satisfy every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

That is Paul’s account to the church in Philippi, but it speaks very closely to a relationship I have with Southwest Central Church of Christ in Houston.  Yes, it is the church that I feel loved and known by, in whom I find God most beautifully and richly present.  They are indeed my help, and have provided for me and more than a number of occasions.  They are truly my help and my encouragement- they not only bless me but they value my gifts (not because I am special above others, but because they want me to participate in God’s kingdom as much as any!).

SWC’s gifts have known no bounds, literally.  Not even the city of Houston can contain their kindness to me.  I am truly grateful for their presence in my life.  In this situation, I am grateful to also share Christ’s words with them: “A little while, and you will no longer see me and again a little while, and you will see me.” (John 16:16)  I am returning very soon, and I will come like a thief in the night- no literally I am arriving at night.  (lol)

Laughs aside, I look forward to soon being restored to my church, continuing my journey with these people, and growing with them in my faith and life with Christ.  Amen!

Coming soon, March 2012!

Responses

  1. Beautiful James. Thank you for your appreciation and thank God for returning you to us.

  2. …and let all the church say, ‘AMEN'”


Leave a Reply

Categories

